This is a complete list of the PNCA Library’s databases. If you are on-campus, clicking on these links will take you into the databases.

If you are off-campus, you can find access passwords on the Library Homeroom site or library paper tri-fold.

A | B | C | D-F | G | H | I-K | L-N | O-P | Q-V | W-Z


A

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Academic OneFile is a terrific source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF, HTML full-text and audio files, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.


Agriculture (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Focused on agriculture and its related fields: from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.


AMICA (Hosted by Luna Commons)

Access info: Available on-campus only (including ArtHouse).

AMICA is a growing online collection of high-quality, digital documentation of works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art in AMICA participant collections, highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.


Art & Architecture Source

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for database login.

Art & Architecture Source is an art research database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.


Artstor

Access info: Create your own login on campus, or see Library Homeroom for generic login information.

Artstor is a digital library of more than one million high-resolution, downloadable images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Artstor serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts.


AskART

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for database login.

AskART covers more than 200,000 American artists from all periods and all regions of the country, and offers international art-auction records, artist biographies, and much more.


Back to top


B


Books & Authors (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool that includes plot summaries, reading recommendations for similar titles, and searchable information on genre, characters, subjects, and time period. The content is based on Gale’s popular What Do I Read Next? Series and includes book reviews and author biographic information for over 146,000 book titles in nonfiction topics and fiction genres.


Business (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.


Business Insights: Global (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Featuring the content you need to explore a global business landscape.


Back to top


C


CAMIO

Access info: Available on-campus only (including ArtHouse).

CAMIO is a growing collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.


Chicago Manual of Style Online

Access info: Available on-campus only (including ArtHouse).

The Chicago Manual of Style is PNCA’s official institutional style for writing. This online resource will help you with all aspects of writing within this style including publishing standards, grammar, and citations of all kinds.


Communications and Mass Media (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Brings together information found in more than 400 journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.


Computer Science (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

For researchers who need to keep pace with the fast changing world of high technology, Computer Science is their Internet- accessible reference solution.


Criminal Justice (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Informs the research process for those studying law, law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, and more.


Culinary Arts (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Offers more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content.


Back to top


D-F


Diversity Studies (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.


EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for database login.

This robust collection contains more than 200,000 multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subject matters.


Economics and Theory (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides periodicals focusing on topics in economics.


Educator’s Reference Complete (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Educator’s Reference Complete covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty — such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Educator’s Reference Complete also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.


Encyclopedia Britannica

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for database login.

The Encyclopedia Britannica features a wealth of authoritative source material including detailed subject entries, videos, timelines, country comparisons, and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus. This is a great spot to begin research on an amazing variety of topics.


Entrepreneurship (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Provides authoritative periodical content supporting business school students and entrepreneurs seeking insights, tips, strategies and success stories.


Environmental Studies In Context (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

An electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.


Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Addresses environmental concerns and research with coverage from more than 300 journals and book reference content.


ERIC

Access info: No login required.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.


Films on Demand

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for database login.

At Films on Demand, stream over 42,000 film titles from over 1000 subject categories.


Fine Arts (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.


Back to top


G


Gale Databases

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Customize your search by selecting specific Gale databases here.


Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Gale Virtual Reference Library contains more than 117 reference sources, encyclopedias, almanacs, and series.


Gardening and Horticulture (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Gardening and Horticulture contains more than 100 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.


Gender Studies (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.


General OneFile (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and manygeneral interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.


Back to top


H


Health and Medicine (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.


Health & Wellness (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Health & Wellness Resource Center from Gale is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.


Home Improvement (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

This collection of more than 200 home-improvement focused titles covers such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements.


Hospitality and Tourism (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural, and economic aspects of travel and tourism.


Back to top


I-K


Information Science (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Periodical content covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.


Informe Académico (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines — not just translations.


JSTOR

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for database login.

Draws on titles across the language, performing, and visual arts; features the largest cluster of titles on Eastern and Western religions on JSTOR; includes all titles from the Music Collection.


Back to top


L-N


LearningExpress

Access info: Create a free account.

LearningExpress offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Once you find a lesson you’d like to try, you will be prompted to create a free account.


LegalTrac (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum.


LitFinder (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.


Mango Languages

Access info: Create your own login.

Mango prepares learners for realistic conversations and strengthens everyday communication skills in over 70 world languages, including more than 20 ESL courses.


News (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

More than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.


Nursing and Allied Health (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Offers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals.

Back to top


O-P


Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from terrorism to endangered species, stem cell research to gun control.


The Oregonian (1852-1987)

Access info: No login needed.

This database contains 839,000+ index records from the Oregonian 1852-1987. No full text is available.


Pop Culture Studies (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.


Popular Magazines (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Features full-text coverage of 1,000 of the most searched magazines across Gale’s InfoTrac product line, covering current events, sports, science, health and more.


PowerSearch (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Search all the Gale and Infotrac databases at the same time!


Psychology (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental,personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.


Back to top


Q-V


Science (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas.


U.S. History (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

Scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.


U.S. History in Context (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.


Back to top


W-Z


War and Terrorism (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.


World History Collection (Gale)

Access info: See Library Homeroom site for Gale databases login.

A chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.



Worldcat

Access info: No login needed.

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.


Back to top