Core Databases

PNCA subscribes to numerous databases. This is a list of the most important databases, which are available only to the PNCA community.

If you are on-campus, clicking on these links will take you into the databases. If you are off-campus, you can find access passwords on the library tri-fold or on the Library Homeroom site.

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Academic OneFile is a terrific source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF, HTML full-text and audio files, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.

Art Source

Art Source is a super database that includes Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete. Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

ARTbibliographies Modern

ArtBibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year.

ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million high-resolution, downloadable images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. To access from home or to download images on or off campus, you must first set up an account on-campus. You may continue to access from home within 120 days of your last on-campus log-in.

DAAI: Design & Applied Arts Index

DAAI: Design & Applied Arts Index is an outstanding source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onward.

Encyclopedia Britannica

The Encyclopedia Britannica features a wealth of authoritative source material including detailed subject entries, videos, timelines, country comparisons, and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus. This is a great spot to begin research on an amazing variety of topics.

GREENR (Gale)

The acronym stands for Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources, and it is a “new, authoritative online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment.” It allows users to navigate issue, organization, and country portals and provides news, video, primary source documents, interactive maps, refereed case studies, and more in research categories such as energy systems, healthcare, food, and green collar jobs. There is also an advisory board and blog for this product.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. With Grove Art Online, as well as the addition of substantial new Oxford reference content, Oxford Art Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online art resource available today, a virtual art reference library of unparalleled scope and depth.

PowerSearch (Gale)
Search all the Gale and Infotrac databases at the same time!

Search over 44,000 photos, paintings, videos, articles, interviews, lectures and original works of fine art. All by you.

Phone: 503-821-8966

1241 NW Johnson Street
Portland, OR 97209

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Summer Hours

June 16th – August 8th:
Mon & Tue: 9:00 am – 5:30 pm
Wed: 9:00 am – 7:00 pm
Thur & Fri: 9:00 am – 5:30 pm
Sat: CLOSED
Sun: Noon – 5:00 pm

Closed July 4th.

August 9th – 31st:
Mon – Fri: 9:00 am – 5:30 pm
Sat & Sun: CLOSED